West Bengal Assembly election 2021, Balurghat profile: RSP’s Biswanath Choudhury gained seat in 2016 – Politics News , Firstpost


Representational picture. PTI

The Balurghat constituency lies in the Dakshin Dinajpur district of West Bengal. It is a part of the Balurghat Parliamentary constituency.

In 2016, the constituency had a complete of 1,60,609 registered electors.

Voter turnout in earlier election: The polling share within the 2016 Assembly election was 88.17 p.c.

Past election outcomes and winners: With 67,495 votes, Trinamool Congress’ Chakraborty Shankar had registered victory over RSP candidate Biswanath Choudhury (49,204 votes) within the 2011 Assembly election. In the 2016 polls, Choudhary defeated Shankar by a slender margin of 1450 votes.

The Balurghat Assembly constituency is anticipated to go to polls in April-May 2021, as a part of West Bengal Assembly polls 2021.

The election will likely be held to elect a complete of 294 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹499 for the primary yr. Use code PRO499. Limited interval provide. *T&C apply

Source link