West Bengal Assembly election 2021, Labhpur profile: Monirul Islam received seat in 2016, more likely to contest as Independent – Politics News , Firstpost


Voter turnout was 88.42 % within the Labhpur constituency within the 2016 meeting election

Representational picture. Reuters

The Assembly/Vidhan Sabha constituency of Labhpur is positioned within the Birbhum district of West Bengal. It falls beneath the Bolpur (SC) Lok Sabha constituency.

As per the voter record of 2019, there are 2,29,419 electorates and 254 polling stations on this constituency. Voter turnout was 88.42 % within the 2016 Assembly election.

Past election outcomes and winners

In the 2016 West Bengal Legislative Assembly election, Trinamool Congress’ Monirul Islam emerged victorious within the constituency. However, Islam jumped ship to hitch the BJP in May 2019. He, nonetheless, has filed his candidacy as an Independent candidate.

The Labhpur meeting constituency is dwelling to a complete of two,97,746 folks, of which 95.08 % is rural and 4.92 % is city inhabitants.

As per orders of the Delimitation Commission, Labhpur (Vidhan Sabha constituency) consists of Labhpur CD Block and Ahmedpur, Amarpur, Bhromorkol, Panrui, Sangra and Shrinidhipur gram panchayats of Sainthia CD Block.

The West Bengal Assembly polls can be held to elect a complete of 294 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Election Date and Timings

The Labhpur Assembly constituency will go to polls on 29 April as a part of the eighth and ultimate section of the West Bengal Assembly election 2021.

Polling will begin from 7 am and proceed until 6 pm. An extra one hour from 6 pm to 7 pm has been reserved for COVID-19 constructive sufferers in addition to these isolating at dwelling.

Elections for the West Bengal meeting are being held in eight phases, up from seven final time, starting with polling for 30 seats on 27 March beneath section 1, 30 seats on 1 April beneath section 2, adopted by the third section on 6 April for 31 seats, the fourth section on 10 April for 44 constituencies, the fifth section on 17 April for 45 seats, sixth section for 43 seats on 22 April, seventh section on 26 April for 36 seats and final and eighth section on 29 April for 35 seats.

The state is held by the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC with an absolute majority, with Mamata Banerjee on her second consecutive time period as chief minister. The ruling social gathering is combating a pitched battle with archrival BJP and its allies within the NDA, whereas the Congress-led Sanyukt Morcha can be a key participant within the fray.

Source link