Sunil Chhetri to guide Bengaluru FC, Delgado omitted of AFC Cup


India captain Sunil Chhetri returns to motion after recovering from COVID-19 and can lead Bengaluru FC in its AFC Cup preliminary stage two contest right here on April 14.

Bengaluru FC on Thursday named a 29-member squad for the competition in opposition to Nepalese aspect Tribhuvan Army FC, a day after three COVID-19 instances had been detected among the many gamers and employees. Five reserve group gamers had been named within the group as head coach Marco Pezzaiuoli prepares for his first recreation answerable for the Blues.

“Skipper Sunil Chhetri will lead the side into a seventh season of continental football, with the 36-year-old having joined the side in Goa where preparations for the campaign are well underway,” the membership mentioned in an announcement.

Chhetri tested positive for coronavirus on March 11 and recovered by March 28.

He missed India’s worldwide friendlies in opposition to Oman and the UAE in Dubai resulting from sickness. India had drawn 1-1 in opposition to Oman 1-1 and misplaced 6-Zero in opposition to UAE.

Gabonese defender Yrondu Musavu-King is the latest addition to the Blues’ overseas contingent as he joins Juanan Gonzalez, Cleiton Silva and Erik Paartalu within the squad for the qualifying marketing campaign. Spanish midfieder Dimas Delgado was minimize from the squad.

The graduates from the membership’s reserve aspect embody goalkeeper Sharon Padattil, midfielders Damaitphang Lyngdoh and Muhammad Inayath, and strikers Akashdeep Singh and Sivasakthi Narayanan.

The match on the GMC Stadium right here might be performed behind closed doorways because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

On Wednesday, the membership introduced that three individuals had tested positive for the coronavirus throughout the camp, which started on April 5.

The squad

  • Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lalthuammawia Ralte, Lara Sharma, Sharon Padattil.
  • Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Pratik Chaudhari, Juan Gonzalez, Wungngayam Muirang, Ajith Kumar, Ashique Kuruniyan, Joe Zoherliana, Parag Shrivas, Yrondu Musavu-King, Biswa Darjee.
  • Midfielders: Erik Paartalu, Suresh Wangjam, Harmanjot Khabra, Namgyal Bhutia, Emanuel Lalchhanchuaha, Damaitphang Lyngdoh, Muhammad Inayath.
  • Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Edmund Lalrindika, Udanta Singh, Cleiton Silva, Leon Augustine, Naorem Roshan Singh, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Akashdeep Singh.

Source link